What was the Armadacup?

In one word: unique! This international event brought together top athletes and club scullers of all levels. 250 men and women all got underway at the same moment. Raced near the Swiss capital Berne on the last Saturday in October, the Armadacup ran over nine twisting and technically demanding kilometers. The organizers, mainly from clubs on the host lake, the Wohlensee, operated as Bern Regatta Association.

Yesterday and today

Marc Furrer, a major figure in Swiss rowing, started the Armadacup in the 1980‘s. Since 1987, Men’s Division winners have included famous international scullers such as Peter-Michael Kolbe, Thomas Lange, Peter Antonie, Vaclav Chalupa, Juri Jaanson, Marcel Hacker, Mahe Drysdale, Martin Damir, Nico Stahlberg and Jason Osborne. Well-known winners of the Women's Division include Jana Thieme, Kathrin Boron, Marnie MacBean, Ekatarina Karsten, Emma Twigg, Pamela Weisshaupt, Mirka Knapkova and Magdalena Lobnig.

U15 coxed quads got a chance to race in front of the Armadacup crowd, with the winners then rowing a lap of honour with top athletes. Alongside the scullers, the Armadacup also hosted dragonboat and canoe races for a number of years.
In 2018, the retirement of a major part of the long-serving Organising Committee brought the Armadacup to an end.